Apr 132018

The 65th National Film Awards have been announced with Bollywood film ‘Newton’ emerging as the Best Hindi Film and music maestro AR Rahman emerging as the biggest winner. Filmmaker Shekhar Kapur headed the jury of the film awards which recognises talents across cinema in all languages. Late actress Sridevi was conferred with the Best Actress Award posthumously for her last film ‘Mom’ while the Best Actor Award went to Riddhi Sen for ‘Nagarkirtan’.

AR Rahman won the National Award for Best Music Direction for ‘Kaatru Veliyidai’ and for the Background Music for the film ‘Mom’. This makes him the only composer to win six National Awards.

Actor Pankaj Tripathi received a special mention at the 65th National Film Awards for his performance in the film ‘Newton’. Late actor Vinod Khanna was conferred with the Dadasaheb Phalke Award for his immense contribution to Indian cinema.

‘Baahubali 2: The Conclusion’ too got the attention it deserved and won the Best Special Effects and Best Action Direction besides the Best Popular Film Providing Wholesome Entertainment.

Following is the list of winners:

Best Actress: Sridevi for ‘Mom’
Best Actor: Riddhi Sen for ‘Nagar Kirtan’
Best Director: Jayaraj for ‘Bhayanakam’
Best Film: Village Rockstars (Assamese)
Best Action Direction: ‘Baahubali 2: The Conclusion’
Best Choreography: Ganesh Acharya for ‘Gori Tu Latth Maar’ from the film ‘Toilet Ek Prem Katha’
Best Special Effects: ‘Baahubali 2: The Conclusion’
Special Jury Award: Nagar Kirtan (Bengali)
Best Lyrics: Muthurathinam
Best Music Direction: AR Rahman for ‘Katru Veliyidayi’
Best Make-up Artist: Ram Rajak for ‘Nagar Kirtan’
Best Costume: Gobinda Mandal for ‘Nagar Kirtan’
Best Production Design: Santosh Rajan ‘Take Off’
Best Editing: Rima Das for ‘Village Rockstar’
Best Sound Design: ‘Walking With The Wind’
Best Audiography (Location Sound): Mallika Das, Village Rockstar
Best Location Sound Recording: Mallika Das for ‘Village Rockstar’
Best Screenplay Original: Thondimuthalum Driksakshiyum
Best Screenplay Adapted: Bhayanakam
Best Cinematography: Bhayanakam
Best Female Playback Singer: Sashaa Tirupati for ‘Kaatru Veliyidayi’
Best Male Playback Singer: K.J Yesudas for the song ‘Poy Maranja Kalam’ from ‘Viswasapoorvam Mansoor’
Best Child Artist: Anita Das for ‘Village Rockstar’
Best Children’s Film: ‘Mhorkya’
Best Film on Environmental Conservation: ‘Irada’
Best Direction: Jayaraj for ‘Bhayanakam’
Best Feature Film on National Integration: Dhappa (Marathi)
Best Debut Film of a Director: ‘Sinjar’
Best Popular Film Providing Wholesome Entertainment: ‘Baahubali 2: The Conclusion’

Best Regional Films Special Mention:

Marathi – Mhorkya
Malayalam – Take Off

Best Regional Films:

Hindi – Newton
Ladakh – Walking With The Wind
Lakshadweep – Sinjar
Tulu – Paddayi
Marathi – Kachcha Limboo
Malayalam – Thondimuthalum Driksakshiyum
Kannada – Hebbettu Ramakka
Bengali – Mayurakshi
Assamese – Ishu
Telugu – Ghazi
Gujarati – Dhh
Odiya – Hello Arsi

 Leave a Reply